Merck Group | Digital transformation

With around 50,000 employees in 66 countries worldwide, Merck is in the process of digital transformation to enter the digital age. Digitisation requires the competent handling of new media and technical possibilities by employees, which leads to a substantial need for training.

Profile of requirement

How to impart practice-relevant and applicable knowledge synchronously – and even worldwide?

The Merck Group was looking for an internal solution to transfer knowledge in online marketing and to strengthen the competence development and competitiveness of the Merck Group in the digital age. In addition to professional knowledge, the training concept must also guarantee a hands-on experience.

The idea – video-based learning

Design and production of video tutorials

As part of the Merck Group’s digitization strategy, a communication strategy was developed to introduce Merck employees to the topics of online marketing with the power of video storytelling. Video-based learning makes it possible to communicate knowledge in a simple and understandable way – in contrast to text-based training materials!

Conception and development of an e-learning portal

As a globally operating company, it was important for us to create a solution for the Merck Group that allows for flexibility in terms of space, time and content. A specially created e-learning portal enables employees to access knowledge at any time – globally transportable and scalable.

How can e-learning content be designed dramaturgically in such a way that the viewer’s interest does not diminish and the users immediately try out what they have learned?

The implementation

Videos to transport the training content

 

The core aspect of the video production was the selection of suitable content and its target-oriented preparation. It was important for the content to be geared to the individual learning objectives of Merck Group employees. Wording & Form were decisive for success.

  • Each video reflects the special requirements of pharmaceutical marketing in compliance with the German pharmaceutical-advertising law – advertising for prescription drugs, monitoring obligations and healthcare marketing in the B2C and B2B sectors. 
  • Numerous practical hints in each video not only enable a professional knowledge transfer, but also a direct applicability
  • Videos with high viewer retention and audience activation to test the newly acquired knowledge
  • Scalability and flexibility to reach 50,000 employees worldwide
Time saving &
Cost reduction

 

A professionally designed learning platform enables employees to access the videos anytime and anywhere. Whether smartphone, tablet or PC – we support the self-directed, independent training within the Merck Group.

The result

The company produced 96 videos in German, English, Spanish and French – to facilitate worldwide use of the videos. Each video is between 3 and 4 minutes long. A total of 12 thematic areas building on each other were covered – from introductions to the topics SEO, SEM and online marketing to specific content such asearned and Owned Media, Branding, Social Listening, Influencer Marketing and Social Media Ads.

Merck Group | Digitale Transformation

Mit weltweit rund 50.000 Mitarbeitern in 66 Ländern befindet sich Merck im Prozess der digitalen Transformation, um in das digitale Zeitalter einzutreten. Die Digitalisierung erfordert einen kompetenten Umgang der Mitarbeiter mit neuen Medien und technischen Möglichkeiten, was zu einem substanziellen Schulungsbedarf führt.

Die Herausforderung

Paxisrelevantes und anwendbares Wissen synchron vermitteln – und das weltweit?

Die Merck Group suchte nach einer Lösung, einen internen Wissenstransfer im Online Marketing zu ermöglichen und den Kompetenzaufbau und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Konzerns im digitalen Zeitalter zu stärken. Dabei müssen die Lehrinhalte neben fachlichem Wissen auch eine “Hands-on Experience” garantieren.

Die Idee – Videobasiertes Lernen

Design und Produktion von Video Tutorials

Im Rahmen der Digitalisierungsstrategie der Merck Group wurde eine Kommunikationsstrategie entwickelt, die Mitarbeiter von Merck mit der Kraft des Video Storytellings an das Thema Online-Marketing heranzuführen. Denn mittels videobasiertem Lernen können Thematiken einfach und verständlich vermittelt werden – ganz im Gegensatz zu textlastigen Schulungsunterlagen!

Konzeption und Entwicklung eines E-Learning-Portals

Als weltweit agierendes Unternehmen war es für uns wichtig, der Merck Group eine Lösung zu schaffen, die eine räumliche, zeitliche und inhaltliche Flexibilität des Lernens ermöglicht. Ein eigens erstelltes E-Learning-Portal ermöglicht den Mitarbeitern jederzeit zugängliches Wissen – weltweit transportierbar und skalierbar.

Wie können E-Learning-Inhalte dramaturgisch so gestaltet werden, dass das Interesse des Betrachters nicht abnimmt und die Nutzer sofort das Gelernte ausprobieren?

Die Umsetzung

Video Inhalte transportieren
den Schulungscontent

 

Kernaspekt der Video Produktion war die Auswahl geeigneter Inhalte und dessen zielgerichtete Aufbereitung. Wichtig war, dass sich der Content an den individuellen Lernzielen der Merck Group Mitarbeiter orientiert. Wording & Form waren dabei erfolgsentscheidend.

  • Jedes Video spiegelt die speziellen Anforderungen des Pharmamarketings unter Berücksichtigung des Heilmittelwerbegesetzes (kurz HGW) wider –  der Werbung für verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente, der Überwachungspflichten und des Healthcare-Marketings im B2C- und B2B-Bereich 
  • Zahlreiche praktische Hinweise in jedem Video ermöglichen nicht nur einen fachlichen Wissenstransfer, sondern auch eine direkte Anwendbarkeit
  • Videos mit hoher Zuschauerbindung und Zuschaueraktivierung, um das neu erworbene Wissen auszuprobieren
  • Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität, um 50.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit zu erreichen
Zeitersparnis &
Kostenreduktion

 

Eine professionell erstellte Learningplattform ermöglicht es den Mitarbeitern, die Videos jederzeit und an jedem Ort abzurufen. Ob Smartphone, Tablet oder PC – wir unterstützen die selbstgesteuerte, eigenverantwortliche Weiterbildung innerhalb der Merck Group.

Das Ergebnis

Produziert wurden 96 Videos in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch und Französisch – um einen weltweiten Einsatz der Videos zu ermöglichen. Jedes Video ist zwischen 3 und 4 Minuten lang. Insgesamt wurden 12 aufeinander aufbauende Themenbereiche behandelt – Von Einführungen in die Thematiken SEO , SEM und Online Marketing bis hin zu spezifischen Inhalten wie Eearned- and Owned Media, Branding, Social Listening, Influencer Marketing und Social Media Ads.