Deutsche Bahn AG | YouTube Channel Performance & Strategic Video Marketing

Deutsche Bahn Group: International provider of mobility and logistics services, operating in over 130 countries and with more than 300,000 employees worldwide. A big, wide world!

We, the Deutsche Bahn Group and their stories

The DB Group’s YouTube channel provides insights into the complex subject areas surrounding travelling by train and the Deutsche Bahn. For this purpose, we continuously produce varied and informative video content to help people understand the big world of the Deutsche Bahn – a look behind the scenes. Because videos are the perfect information carrier when it comes to presenting complex facts or processes of a large corporation in an understandable way. That’s why we are all the more proud to be able to continue to focus on the YouTube presence of the Deutsche Bahn Group.


“The Deutsche Bahn has been moving us through the Republic for a lifetime – and for the past two years we have been moving the diverse video content of the DB Group through the social media world.”


 

Video Campaigning – Step by step 

The challenge: dozens of different topics – fundamentally different target groups and media targeting

Initially, the videos on the YouTube channel of the Deutsche Bahn Group were analyzed and assigned to various subject areas – from innovation, employer branding and CSR to cooperation – and provided with a very personal distribution strategy that was tailored to the subject area and content.

According to the target group briefing, our focus was now on a comprehensive web analysis – to define where the target group is on the web and which social media and PR media are the right target channels, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+, as well as travel blogs and communities. We then weighted and developed a cross-media campaign.



Integration of high range influencers

Influencer cannot be left out in any communication action plan. There are experts on the net for every topic and product, who are very well versed in the respective topic and have an appropriate fan base. A fan base that listens and trusts. The influencers selected according to the target group analysis reported on their experiences with Deutsche Bahn and thus provided additional buzz on the web – for example with the travel challenge “Unser abgefahrener Sommer”, in which the two travel and fashion bloggers Patrizia Palme and Der Hardi travel across the country for DB and get to know the people behind the group. Or the unique acoustic performances” trainsome sessions”, which took place at various stations throughout Germany.

Its success is the proof of the concept: The reach of the influencers alone, who posted videos from the DB Group, results in a gross reach of 20 million page views.

PR measures

The right choice of topics and a target-oriented approach in the social web attracted a lot of attention. This not only convinced the users, but also gave them top placements in news portals such as FOCUS, SPIEGEL or STERN and in the editorial formats of ARD, ZDF and RTL. 

Clear the way – with video marketing on the path to success

The bundling of measures and an additional video SEO enabled the channel to grow strongly in reach and subscriber numbers.

Bottom line, what does that mean?


1. Channel subscribers have doubled to 24,000+ since the campaign started

2. Increase of channel coverage to more than 14 million views

3. Our detailed monitoring provides Deutsche Bahn Group with important insights into the individual videos and enables us to draw conclusions as to which contents work on the Internet. This in turn helps the company to plan and design further video content. Win Win!

Deutsche Bahn AG | YouTube Channel Performance & Strategisches Videomarketing

Der Deutsche Bahn Konzern: Internationaler Anbieter von Mobilitäts- und Logistikdienstleistungen, agierend in über 130 Ländern und mit mehr als 300.000 Mitarbeitern weltweit. Eine große, weite Welt!

Die Deutsche Bahn, Ihre Geschichten und wir

Einblicke in die komplexen Themenbereiche rund um die DB und die Reise mit der Bahn ermöglicht der YouTube Kanal des Konzerns. Kontinuierlich wird hierfür vielfältiger und informativer Video Content produziert, um den Menschen die große Welt der Deutschen Bahn verständlich zu machen – ein Blick hinter die Kulissen. Denn Videos sind die perfekten Informationsträger, wenn es darum geht, komplexe Sachverhalte oder Prozessabläufe eines großen Konzerns verständlich darzustellen. Deshalb sind wir auch umso stolzer, die YouTube Präsenz des Deutschen Bahn Konzerns kontinuierlich weiter ins Rampenlicht zu rücken.


“Ein Leben lang bewegt uns die Deutsche Bahn durch die Republik – und seit 2 Jahren bewegen wir den vielfältigen Video Content des DB Konzerns durch die Social Media Welt.”


 

Video Campaigning – Schritt für Schritt

Die Herausforderung: Dutzende unterschiedliche Themen – grundverschiedene Zielgruppen-Ansprache und Media-Targeting

Zunächst wurden die Videos des YouTube Kanals des Deutschen Bahn Konzerns analysiert und verschiedenen Themenbereichen zugeordnet – von Innovation, Employer Branding und CSR bis hin zur Kooperationen – und mit einer ganz persönlichen, zum Themenbereich und Content passenden Verbreitungsstrategie versehen.

Gemäß des Zielgruppen-Briefings galt unser Fokus nun einer umfassenden Webanalyse – um zu definieren, wo sich die Zielgruppe im Web aufhält und welche Social Media- und PR Medien die richtigen Zielkanäle sind, u.a. Facebook, Twitter, Google+, sowie Reise Blogs und -Communities. Anschließend haben wir gewichtet und eine Cross-Media-Kampagne ausgearbeitet.



Einbindung reichweitenstarker Influencer

In diesem Maßnahmenspekturm durften Influencer nicht fehlen. Für jedes Thema und jedes Produkt gibt es Experten im Netz, die sich sehr gut mit der jeweiligen Thematik auskennen und eine entsprechende Fanbase besitzen. Eine Fanbase, die zuhört und vertraut. Die entsprechend der Zielgruppenanalyse ausgewählten Influencer berichteten von Ihren Erfahrungen mit der Deutschen Bahn, und sorgten damit für zusätzlichen Buzz im Web – beispielsweise mit der Reise-Challenge „Unser abgefahrener Sommer“, in der die beiden Travel- und Fashion-Blogger Patrizia Palme und Der Hardi für die DB quer durchs Land fahren und die Menschen hinter dem Konzern kennenlernen. Oder etwa die einzigartigen Akustikperformances” trainsome sessions”, die an verschiedenen Bahnhöfen deutschlandweit stattfanden.

Der Erfolg gibt uns recht: Allein die Reichweite der Influencer, die Videos des DB Konzerns gepostet haben, ergeben eine Brutto-Reichweite von 20 Millionen Page Views.

PR-Maßnahmen

Die richtige Themenwahl und eine zielgerichtete Ansprache im Social Web sorgte für ordentlich Aufmerksamkeit. Das überzeugte nicht nur die User, sondern bescherte TOP-Platzierungen in Newsportalen wie FOCUS, SPIEGEL oder STERN und in den redaktionellen Formaten von ARD, ZDF und RTL. 

Bahn frei – mit Videomarketing zum Erfolg

Durch die Bündelung der Maßnahmen und einem zusätzlichen Video SEO konnte der Kanal in Reichweite und Abonnentenzahl stark wachsen.

Unterm Strich bedeutet das?


1. Verdoppelung der Channel Abonnenten seit Kampagnenstart auf 24.000+

2. Steigerung der Kanalreichweite auf über 14 Mio Views

3. Über unser detailliertes Monitoring erhält der Deutsche Bahn Konzern wichtige Insights zu den einzelnen Videos und kann so Rückschlüsse darauf ziehen, welche Inhalte im Netz funktionieren. Und das wiederum hilft dem Unternehmen bei der Planung und Gestaltung von weiterem Video Content. Win Win!