BMZ – Bundesministerium | YouTube Channel Management

Development policy is a task for society as a whole. In order to create a more peaceful and fairer world and to secure the freedom of all people to live their lives without material need and self-determined, it is necessary to engage as many citizens as possible.

BMZ’s YouTube channel –
the heart of moving image communication

Only through a broad social support can Germany achieve its development policy goals. In order to secure broad support, the Ministry organises and controls dialogue and cooperation processes, carries out events with high publicity impact and provides extensive information on the Internet.

An extremely important component of this work for the BMZ is the ministry’s YouTube channel, the core element of moving image communication.

 

Challenge?

Solution!

In the summer of 2015, a content and marketing concept was developed in cooperation with the Department for Public Relations, Digital Communication and Visitor Services in order to strengthen the YouTube channel of the ministry on a sustained basis and to increase awareness of BMZ’s work in Germany enormously and to initiate a social media distribution with strong target group integration.

The overarching strategy included the following components:

1 Conceptual design and production of channel-suitable content in cooperation with testimonials such as Tom Wlaschiha (Game of Thrones, Crossing Lines) or Hannes Jaenicke (Tatort, Schimanski)

2 Comprehensive optimization of the YouTube channel, relaunch with a new visual identity, revision of the textual content

3 Strategic use of multipliers, bloggers, social media influencers to spread the content on the social web

Interplay of conception, production and influencer marketing

Especially in the area of charity and social responsibility, the dot-group has a powerful and influential influencer network.

The result

Detailed and honest blog posts by influencers led to a high degree of authenticity and inspired other users to visit the BMZ YouTube channel.



Successful Channel Management

Thanks to the media- and target-group-oriented content concepts and marketing strategies, more than 5 million users were made aware of the diverse topics such as climate change, health or poverty, making the YouTube channel the second strongest channel of the German ministries. The video content of the YouTube channel generated more than 4,000 shares and likes, which in turn increased BMZ’s social media awareness.

BMZ – Bundesministerium | YouTube Channel Management

Entwicklungspolitik ist eine Aufgabe der gesamten Gesellschaft. Um eine friedlichere und gerechtere Welt zu schaffen und um allen Menschen die Freiheit zu sichern, ihr Leben ohne materielle Not und selbstbestimmt zu gestalten, ist das Engagement möglichst vieler Bürger erforderlich.

Der YouTube Kanal des BMZ –
das Kernstück der Bewegtbildkommunikation

Nur durch eine breite gesellschaftliche Unterstützung kann Deutschland seine entwicklungspolitischen Ziele erreichen. Um die breite Unterstützung zu sichern, gestaltet und steuert das Ministerium Dialog- und Kooperationsprozesse, führt öffentlichkeitswirksame Veranstaltungen durch und stellt umfangreiche Informationen im Internet zur Verfügung.

Eine für das BMZ enorm wichtige Komponente dieser Arbeit ist der YouTube-Kanal des Ministeriums, das Kernstück der Bewegtbildkommunikation.

 

Herausforderung?

Lösung!

Im Sommer 2015 wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Referat für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Digitale Kommunikation und Besucherdienst ein Content- und Vermarktungskonzept entwickelt, um den YouTube-Kanal des Ministerium nachhaltig zu stärken, die Awareness für die Arbeit des BMZ in Deutschland enorm zu
erhöhen und eine Social Media Verbreitung mit starkem Zielgruppeninvolvement zu initiieren.

Die übergreifende Strategie beinhaltete folgende Komponenten:

1 Konzeptionierung und Produktion von kanalgerechtem Content in Zusammenarbeit mit Testimonials wie bspw. Tom Wlaschiha (u.a. Game of Thrones, Crossing Lines) oder Hannes Jaenicke (u.a. Tatort, Schimanski)

2 Umfassende Optimierung des YouTube-Kanals, Relaunch mit einer neuen visuellen Identität, Überarbeitung der Textinhalte

3 Strategischer Einsatz von Multiplikatoren, Bloggern Social Media Influencern, um die Inhalte im Social Web zu verbreiten

Zusammenspiel von Konzeption, Produktion und Influencer

Besonders im Bereich Charity und soziale Verantwortung verfügt die dot-gruppe über ein reichweitenstarkes und einflussreiches Influencer-Netzwerk.

Das Ergebnis

Ausführliche und aufrichtige Blog-Beiträge der Influencer führten zu hoher Authentizität und inspirierten andere User zum Besuch des BMZ YouTube Kanals.

Erfolge für das Channel Management

Dank der medien- und zielgruppengerechten Contentkonzepte und Vermarktungsstrategien wurden über 5 Mio Nutzer auf die vielfältigen Themen wie Klimawandel, Gesundheit oder Armut aufmerksam gemacht, wodurch der YouTube-Kanal zum zweitstärksten Kanal der deutschen Ministerien wurde. Der  Video Content des YouTube Kanals generierte über 4.000 Shares und Likes, was wiederum die Social Media Awareness der BMZ steigerte.